News

New works on my website: the easy and simple Mass setting Missa simplex  as well as secular choral works: compositions and arrangements based on texts by Wilhelm Busch, Erich Kästner and others.

Latest edition of the edition riedl : Erich Kästner's "The Thirteen Months" for Soprano & Piano.

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

composer & conductor

A warm welcome to my website! Here you can gain insight into my work as a composer as well as a conductor. Together with my ensembles I cover a wide stylistic range of music – music of all epochs performed with different musical groups. Still, despite the almost infinite number of available works, sometimes there is the need and desire to create a new piece of music –the perfect music for a special occasion or a particular ensemble.

So, let me invite you to search through my compositions and to discover my music! At different pages you can find my works for choir, orchestra and also chamber music – within that last category you can also have a look at my works for solo instruments. Finally, in a fourth category my New Spiritual Songs are presented.

For each composition a free sample score is available and for most works you can also find an audio file providing a first audio impression. Besides original compositions, you can also rummage through arrangements for various musical ensembles. If you felt like performing some of my music, I’d be happy about you getting in touch with me!

As a composer I use all styles and forms of the last millennium, thus trying to create a new musical language. To me, composing is both improvisation and construction, cognitively playing with different possibilities as well as impulsiveness and intuition.

Would you like to have a composition written for you or your ensemble? I’d like to get into conversation with you and I’ll compose an individually tailored work! An anniversary of you choir or orchestra or any other special occasion might be crowned with the premiere of the commissioned work.

Last but not least, I would like to illustrate my work as a conductor by presenting my ensembles. So, please join us at any of the upcoming projects and concerts, either by listening or by taking part as a musician!

New on my homepage is the currently emerging edition riedl , in which you will find the works of the Hamburg composer Hartwig Riedl. It starts with his classical-romantic viola sonata "Abitur-Sonate 1958 for viola and piano", further works will follow shortly.

I hope you’ll enjoy discovering the music...

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

Church services online

A very warm invitation to celebrate church services that were streamed on the Internet due to the Corona pandemic:

Easter Vigil 2021 as recording: https://youtu.be/xVVQ_dLCgmw

Family service with my Easter song "Brannte uns nicht das Herz" on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJ6VqNbkYr4

Welfare and Social Work church service "Sehnsucht nach Leben" including my song with this title, sung at [1:02:40] by Annika Schweizer and Carsten Beneke: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slK_VqjiBgc

Services of the of the years 2020 and 2021 you can find here.

Privacy settings

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential, while others help us to improve this website and your experience.
In this overview you can select and deselect individual cookies from a category or entire categories. You will also find more information about the cookies available.
Group Essential
Name Contao CSRF Token
Technical name csrf_contao_csrf_token
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Serves to protect the website from falsification of cross-location inquiries. After closing the browser, the cookie is deleted again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name Contao HTTPS CSRF Token
Technical name csrf_https-contao_csrf_token
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Serves to protect the encrypted website (HTTPS) from falsification of cross-location requests. After closing the browser, the cookie is deleted again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name PHP SESSION ID
Technical name PHPSESSID
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use PHP cookie (programming language), PHP data identifier. Contains only a reference to the current session. No information is stored in the user's browser and this cookie can only be used by the current website. This cookie is mainly used in forms to increase usability. Data entered in forms are e.g. B. stored briefly if there is an input error by the user and the user receives an error message. Otherwise all data would have to be entered again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name FE USER AUTH
Technical name FE_USER_AUTH
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Saves information about a visitor as soon as he logs into the frontend.
Allowed
Group External media
Name Youtube iFrame
Technical name
Provider Google LLC
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy https://policies.google.com/privacy
Use Allows the use of the YouTube video player.
Allowed

Gottesdienste online

Herzliche Einladung zum Mitfeiern der Gottesdienste, die aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie im Internet gestreamt wurden:

Livestream der Osternacht - am 3. April live ab 20:00 Uhr, danach als Aufzeichnung: https://youtu.be/xVVQ_dLCgmw

Ich freue mich, dass mein österliches Lied "Brannte uns nicht das Herz" beim Familiengottesdienst am Ostermontag, 5. April um 10:00 Uhr in Marktheidenfeld erklingen wird. Der Gottesdienst kann hier live mitgefeiert werden: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJ6VqNbkYr4

Diakonie-Gottesdienst unter dem Motto "Sehnsucht nach Leben" mit meinem gleichnamigen Song, den Annika Schweizer und Carsten Beneke bei [1:02:40] singen: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slK_VqjiBgc

Weitere Gottesdienste hier und immer aktuell unter: www.se-rosenstein.de/gottesdienste.

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

Komponist & Dirigent

Herzlich Willkommen auf meiner Homepage! Hier finden Sie Einblicke in meine Arbeit als Komponist und Dirigent. Mit meinen Ensembles führe ich eine große stilistische Bandbreite an Musik aller Epochen in den unterschiedlichsten Besetzungen auf – doch da, wo die unendliche Fülle an Werken, die uns heute zur Verfügung steht, nicht mehr ausreicht, um die richtige Musik im rechten Augenblick zu machen, entsteht der Impuls, neue Musik zu machen, also originär kreativ zu werden.

Ich lade Sie ein, in meinen Kompositionen zu stöbern und meine Musik zu entdecken! Auf verschiedenen Seiten finden Sie meine Werke für Chor, Orchester und Kammermusik – unter letzterer Kategorie auch Solowerke. Eine vierte Kategorie stellt meine Neuen Geistlichen Lieder vor. Zu jeder Komposition steht Ihnen eine kostenlose Probepartitur zur Verfügung und meist auch ein Audiofile zum Probehören. Neben originären Kompositionen finden Sie auch Bearbeitungen für verschiedene Besetzungen. Sollten Sie Lust bekommen haben, meine Musik aufzuführen, würde ich mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie mit mir in Kontakt treten!

In meiner Tonsprache als Komponist schöpfe ich aus allen Stilen und Formen des letzten Jahrtausends und versuche auf diesem Weg, eine neue Klangsprache zu kreieren. Komposition ist für mich gleichermaßen Improvisation wie Konstruktion, kognitives Spiel mit den Möglichkeiten sowie Impulsivität und Intuition.

Haben Sie Lust, eine Komposition für sich oder Ihr Ensemble in Auftrag zu geben? Gerne komme ich mit Ihnen ins Gespräch uns schreibe für Sie ein individuell zugeschnittenes Werk! So können Sie z.B. ein Jubiläum Ihres Chores oder Orchesters oder ein anderes besonderes Ereignis mit der Uraufführung einer Auftragskomposition krönen.

Nicht zuletzt möchte ich hier auch meine dirigentischen Aktivitäten vorstellen. Lernen Sie meine Ensembles kennen und seien Sie eingeladen, bei meinen nächsten Projekten und Konzerten im Publikum – oder sogar mitwirkend – dabei zu sein!

Neu auf meiner Homepage ist die aktuell entstehende edition riedl , in der Sie die Werke des Hamburger Komponisten Hartwig Riedl finden. Den Anfang macht seine klassisch-romantische Bratschensonate "Abitur-Sonate 1958 für Viola und Klavier", weiter Werke folgen in Kürze.

Viel Freude beim Entdecken der Musik wünscht Ihnen

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

Aktuelles

Neu auf meiner Website: die edition riedl . Hier entsteht eine Gesamtausgabe der Werke des Hamburger Komponisten Hartwig Riedl. Bleiben Sie dran!

Neueste Ausgabe: Drei Pop-Sonaten

Datenschutzeinstellungen

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige von ihnen sind essenziell, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und Ihre Erfahrung zu verbessern.
In dieser Übersicht können Sie einzelne Cookies einer Kategorie oder ganze Kategorien an- und abwählen. Außerdem erhalten Sie weitere Informationen zu den verfügbaren Cookies.
Gruppe Essenziell
Name Contao CSRF Token
Technischer Name csrf_contao_csrf_token
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Dient zum Schutz der Website vor Fälschungen von standortübergreifenden Anfragen. Nach dem Schließen des Browsers wird das Cookie wieder gelöscht.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name Contao HTTPS CSRF Token
Technischer Name csrf_https-contao_csrf_token
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Dient zum Schutz der verschlüsselten Website (HTTPS) vor Fälschungen von standortübergreifenden Anfragen. Nach dem Schließen des Browsers wird das Cookie wieder gelöscht.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name PHP SESSION ID
Technischer Name PHPSESSID
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Cookie von PHP (Programmiersprache), PHP Daten-Identifikator. Enthält nur einen Verweis auf die aktuelle Sitzung. Im Browser des Nutzers werden keine Informationen gespeichert und dieses Cookie kann nur von der aktuellen Website genutzt werden. Dieses Cookie wird vor allem in Formularen benutzt, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu erhöhen. In Formulare eingegebene Daten werden z. B. kurzzeitig gespeichert, wenn ein Eingabefehler durch den Nutzer vorliegt und dieser eine Fehlermeldung erhält. Ansonsten müssten alle Daten erneut eingegeben werden.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name FE USER AUTH
Technischer Name FE_USER_AUTH
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Speichert Informationen eines Besuchers, sobald er sich im Frontend einloggt.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Externe Medien
Name Youtube iFrame
Technischer Name
Anbieter Google LLC
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz https://policies.google.com/privacy
Zweck Ermöglicht die Nutzung des Youtube Videoplayers.
Erlaubt