Pentagramme ("Pentagrams")

Sonata for piano

The classical cyclic sonata form combined with the possibilities of the 20thcentury – that is the intention of the piano sonata “Pentagrams”. The number 5 is the main focus with the exploration of its technical and tonal possibilities on the piano. In the three movements, different motifs take up that number in different shapes and compete in constantly developing variations.

The first movement Pentagrams I is characterised by the contrasting and developing of several related motifs which make up a free sonata form. In the process, tonality doesn’t necessarily refer to the root note but to the target notes. The completeness of the twelve chromatic tone steps plays a major role for the individual parts which can’t be completed without a resolution.

Dodecaphony also rules in the second, lyrical movement Carillon. The Carillon motif is taken from the first movement and becomes independent. It is followed by a twelve-tone row which will develop to a cantabile miniature. These elements are framed by the bell sounds of the Carillon in a rondo-like way, which itself then turns into a twelve-tone row and erupts in a dodecaphonic permutation fugue.

The final movement Pentagrams II is at the same time a movement consisting of variations and a rondo, whereby the idea of mirroring is carried to its extremes. The entire movement is mirrored along a centre axis. The Carillon motif is the base of the centre of thefinal presto, thereby creating a cyclic arch over all three movements.

Pentagramme - Perusal score

Pentagramme I_Probepartitur.pdf (3.7 MiB)

Order sheet music

Privacy settings

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential, while others help us to improve this website and your experience.
In this overview you can select and deselect individual cookies from a category or entire categories. You will also find more information about the cookies available.
Group Essential
Name Contao CSRF Token
Technical name csrf_contao_csrf_token
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Serves to protect the website from falsification of cross-location inquiries. After closing the browser, the cookie is deleted again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name Contao HTTPS CSRF Token
Technical name csrf_https-contao_csrf_token
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Serves to protect the encrypted website (HTTPS) from falsification of cross-location requests. After closing the browser, the cookie is deleted again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name PHP SESSION ID
Technical name PHPSESSID
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use PHP cookie (programming language), PHP data identifier. Contains only a reference to the current session. No information is stored in the user's browser and this cookie can only be used by the current website. This cookie is mainly used in forms to increase usability. Data entered in forms are e.g. B. stored briefly if there is an input error by the user and the user receives an error message. Otherwise all data would have to be entered again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name FE USER AUTH
Technical name FE_USER_AUTH
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Saves information about a visitor as soon as he logs into the frontend.
Allowed
Group External media
Name Youtube iFrame
Technical name
Provider Google LLC
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy https://policies.google.com/privacy
Use Allows the use of the YouTube video player.
Allowed

Pentagramme

Sonate für Klavier

Die klassische zyklische Sonatenform mit den kompositorischen Möglichkeiten des 20. Jahrhunderts – das ist kurzgefasst die Intention der Klaviersonate „Pentagramme“. Im Fokus stehen die Zahl 5 und ihre Auslotung im Rahmen der klanglichen und technischen Fähigkeiten des Klaviers. In den drei Sätzen greifen verschiedene Themen diese Zahl in unterschiedlicher Gestalt auf und konkurrieren in sich stets entwickelnder Variation.

Im ersten Satz Pentagramme I entsteht durch das Kontrastieren und Durchführen mehrerer verwandter Themen eine freie Sonatenhauptsatzform. Dabei ist die Tonalität zwar nicht grundton- aber durchaus zieltonbezogen. Die Vollständigkeit der zwölf chromatischen Tonstufen spielt eine große Rolle für die einzelnen Formteile, die ohne „Auflösung“ nicht abgeschlossen sein können.

Zwölftönigkeit bestimmt auch den lyrischen zweiten Satz Carillon: Das Carrilon-Thema ist aus dem ersten Satz entnommen und verselbstständigt sich hier. Ihm folgt eine Zwölftonreihe, die sich später zu einer cantablen Miniatur entfaltet. Umrahmt werden diese Elemente stets rondoartig von den Glockenklängen des Carrilons, der schließlich selbst zur Zwölftonreihe wird und sich in einer dodekaphonischen Permutationsfuge entlädt.

Der Finalsatz Pentagramme II ist gleichsam Variationssatz und Spiegelrondo – wobei der Gedanke des Spiegelns dadurch auf die Spitze getrieben wird, dass der gesamte Satz an einer Mittelachse gespiegelt ist. Diesem Mittelpunkt des Schlussprestos liegt erneut das Carillon-Thema zu Grunde, das so den zyklischen Bogen über alle drei Sätze spannt.

Pentagramme - Probepartitur

Pentagramme I_Probepartitur.pdf (3,7 MiB)

Noten bestellen

Datenschutzeinstellungen

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige von ihnen sind essenziell, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und Ihre Erfahrung zu verbessern.
In dieser Übersicht können Sie einzelne Cookies einer Kategorie oder ganze Kategorien an- und abwählen. Außerdem erhalten Sie weitere Informationen zu den verfügbaren Cookies.
Gruppe Essenziell
Name Contao CSRF Token
Technischer Name csrf_contao_csrf_token
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Dient zum Schutz der Website vor Fälschungen von standortübergreifenden Anfragen. Nach dem Schließen des Browsers wird das Cookie wieder gelöscht.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name Contao HTTPS CSRF Token
Technischer Name csrf_https-contao_csrf_token
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Dient zum Schutz der verschlüsselten Website (HTTPS) vor Fälschungen von standortübergreifenden Anfragen. Nach dem Schließen des Browsers wird das Cookie wieder gelöscht.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name PHP SESSION ID
Technischer Name PHPSESSID
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Cookie von PHP (Programmiersprache), PHP Daten-Identifikator. Enthält nur einen Verweis auf die aktuelle Sitzung. Im Browser des Nutzers werden keine Informationen gespeichert und dieses Cookie kann nur von der aktuellen Website genutzt werden. Dieses Cookie wird vor allem in Formularen benutzt, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu erhöhen. In Formulare eingegebene Daten werden z. B. kurzzeitig gespeichert, wenn ein Eingabefehler durch den Nutzer vorliegt und dieser eine Fehlermeldung erhält. Ansonsten müssten alle Daten erneut eingegeben werden.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name FE USER AUTH
Technischer Name FE_USER_AUTH
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Speichert Informationen eines Besuchers, sobald er sich im Frontend einloggt.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Externe Medien
Name Youtube iFrame
Technischer Name
Anbieter Google LLC
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz https://policies.google.com/privacy
Zweck Ermöglicht die Nutzung des Youtube Videoplayers.
Erlaubt