Credo romano

Credo romano is a setting to music of the Latin confession of faith from the mass ordinary of the Catholic liturgy for four-part mixed choir and congregation singing. In no other part of the mass is it so tricky, according to liturgical understanding, to let the congregation take part solely by listening as it is in the credo. The individual confession of the believer cannot be replaced by the choir. For this reason, the Credo romano incorporates a congregation chorus. According to the proclaimed participation actuosa by liturgical reform of the second Vatican council, the congregation actively takes part by reinforcing what they heard from the choir with the following congregation chorus: “Credo in unum deum, credo! In Patrem, Filium et Spiritum Sanctum.“ – “I believe in one God, I believe! In the Father, the Son and the Holy ghost.” (You will find a copying template of the text in the performance material for further use).

With this composition, the Missa romana – Latin Mass in Jazz is a complete mass ordinary. The Credo romano orientates itself towards the Missa Romana in terms of stylistics and the setting of voices. With Latin-American rhythms and colourful jazz harmonies, the composition takes up motives and melodies from the Gregorian Credo based on the Editio Vaticana III: the segments are shaped and carried by rhythmical models over which the lyrical melodies with a Latin feeling lie. At the same time, the main melody wanders through the different voices and the middle part – From Jesus’ life story of the tenderness of the childish incarnation, via the dramatic art of the crucifixion, up to the resurrection cheers and the ascension to heaven – and is shaped as a sonic image, rich in contrast.

A performance with Latin percussion instruments in a band or together with the organ is recommendable – as in the Missa romana. In that way, both compositions can be put together to a complete ordinary, which is stylistically consistent and can be played together during one performance by the same ensemble. With a total length of around 18-19 minutes, both works are perfectly suited for a performance in a liturgical context.

As an autonomous oevre, the Credo romano is an enrichment for the music-liturgical dialogue in the mass and is, beyond that, performable as a concertante oevre with its length of ca. 8 minutes. 

Credo romano - Audio

NB: At the first performance on April 16th 2017 another congregation chorus was sung.

Order sheet music

Privacy settings

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential, while others help us to improve this website and your experience.
In this overview you can select and deselect individual cookies from a category or entire categories. You will also find more information about the cookies available.
Group Essential
Name Contao CSRF Token
Technical name csrf_contao_csrf_token
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Serves to protect the website from falsification of cross-location inquiries. After closing the browser, the cookie is deleted again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name Contao HTTPS CSRF Token
Technical name csrf_https-contao_csrf_token
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Serves to protect the encrypted website (HTTPS) from falsification of cross-location requests. After closing the browser, the cookie is deleted again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name PHP SESSION ID
Technical name PHPSESSID
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use PHP cookie (programming language), PHP data identifier. Contains only a reference to the current session. No information is stored in the user's browser and this cookie can only be used by the current website. This cookie is mainly used in forms to increase usability. Data entered in forms are e.g. B. stored briefly if there is an input error by the user and the user receives an error message. Otherwise all data would have to be entered again.
Allowed
Group Essential
Name FE USER AUTH
Technical name FE_USER_AUTH
Provider thomasmjschaefer.de
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy
Use Saves information about a visitor as soon as he logs into the frontend.
Allowed
Group External media
Name Youtube iFrame
Technical name
Provider Google LLC
Expire in days 0
Privacy policy https://policies.google.com/privacy
Use Allows the use of the YouTube video player.
Allowed

Credo romano

Das Credo romano ist eine Vertonung des lateinischen Glaubensbekenntnisses aus dem Messordinarium der katholischen Liturgie für vierstimmigen gemischten Chor und Gemeindegesang. In keinem anderen Messteil ist es nach liturgischem Verständnis so heikel, die Gemeinde mit dem reinen Vortrag der Messe nur hörend zu beteiligen wie im Credo. Das individuelle Bekenntnis des eigenen Glaubens kann den Gläubigen nicht vom Chor abgenommen werden. Daher bindet das Credo romano einen Gemeindekehrvers in die Komposition mit ein. Nach der in der Liturgiereform des Zweiten Vatikanischen Konzils proklamierten participatio actuosa nimmt die Gemeinde an diesem Credo aktiv teil, indem sie mit dem Kehrvers stets das vom Chor gehörte und den eigenen Glauben bekräftigt mit den Worten: „Credo in unum deum, credo! In Patrem, Filium et Spiritum Sanctum.“ – „Ich glaube an den einen Gott, ich glaube! An den Vater, den Sohn und den Heiligen Geist.“ (Eine Kopiervorlage zur Erstellung eines Gemeindeliedblatts für die Verwendung im Gottesdienst liegt dem Aufführungsmaterial bei.)

Mit dieser Komposition wird die Missa romana – Latin Mass in Jazz zum vollständigen Messordinarium. Das Credo romano ist in Stilistik und Chorbehandlung an der Missa romana orientiert. Mit lateinamerikanischen Rhythmen und farbenreicher Jazz-Harmonik greift die Komposition Motive und Melodien aus dem gregorianischen Credo nach der Editio Vaticana III auf: Die Abschnitte des Werkes sind durchweg von rhythmischen Modellen geprägt und getragen, über denen sich die lyrischen Melodien mit latin feeling ausbreiten dürfen. Die Melodiestimme wandert dabei durch die Chorstimmen und der Mittelteil – Jesu Lebensgeschichte von der Zärtlichkeit der kindlichen Menschwerdung über die Dramatik der Kreuzigung bis hin zum Jubel der Auferstehung und Himmelfahrt – ist als poetisches Klangbild besonders kontrastreich gestaltet.

Es bietet sich – wie bei der Missa romana auch – eine Aufführung mit Latin Percussion-Instrumenten in einer Band oder zusammen mit der Orgel an. So können die beiden Kompositionen als komplettes Ordinarium stilistisch einheitlich und mit gleicher Besetzung gemeinsam aufgeführt werden. Mit einer Gesamtdauer von 18-19 Minuten sind die beiden Werke für eine Aufführung im liturgischen Kontext bestens geeignet.

Auch als eigenständiges Werk ist das Credo romano eine Bereicherung für den musikalisch-liturgischen Dialog im Gottesdienst und mit einer Dauer von ca. 8 Minuten darüber hinaus auch als konzertantes Werk aufführbar.

Credo romano - Audio

Anm.: Bei der Uraufführung am 16. April 2017 wurde statt dem eigenen Kehrvers der Credo-Kehrvers GL 177.1 musiziert.

Noten bestellen

Datenschutzeinstellungen

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige von ihnen sind essenziell, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und Ihre Erfahrung zu verbessern.
In dieser Übersicht können Sie einzelne Cookies einer Kategorie oder ganze Kategorien an- und abwählen. Außerdem erhalten Sie weitere Informationen zu den verfügbaren Cookies.
Gruppe Essenziell
Name Contao CSRF Token
Technischer Name csrf_contao_csrf_token
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Dient zum Schutz der Website vor Fälschungen von standortübergreifenden Anfragen. Nach dem Schließen des Browsers wird das Cookie wieder gelöscht.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name Contao HTTPS CSRF Token
Technischer Name csrf_https-contao_csrf_token
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Dient zum Schutz der verschlüsselten Website (HTTPS) vor Fälschungen von standortübergreifenden Anfragen. Nach dem Schließen des Browsers wird das Cookie wieder gelöscht.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name PHP SESSION ID
Technischer Name PHPSESSID
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Cookie von PHP (Programmiersprache), PHP Daten-Identifikator. Enthält nur einen Verweis auf die aktuelle Sitzung. Im Browser des Nutzers werden keine Informationen gespeichert und dieses Cookie kann nur von der aktuellen Website genutzt werden. Dieses Cookie wird vor allem in Formularen benutzt, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu erhöhen. In Formulare eingegebene Daten werden z. B. kurzzeitig gespeichert, wenn ein Eingabefehler durch den Nutzer vorliegt und dieser eine Fehlermeldung erhält. Ansonsten müssten alle Daten erneut eingegeben werden.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Essenziell
Name FE USER AUTH
Technischer Name FE_USER_AUTH
Anbieter thomasmjschaefer.de
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz
Zweck Speichert Informationen eines Besuchers, sobald er sich im Frontend einloggt.
Erlaubt
Gruppe Externe Medien
Name Youtube iFrame
Technischer Name
Anbieter Google LLC
Ablauf in Tagen 0
Datenschutz https://policies.google.com/privacy
Zweck Ermöglicht die Nutzung des Youtube Videoplayers.
Erlaubt